Bedtime Bonnet

audio title

Bedtime Bonnet

Nancy Redd

$5.00

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

This joyous and loving celebration of family is the first-ever picture book to highlight Black nighttime hair traditions--and is perfect for every little girl who knows what it's like to lose her bonnet just before bedtime.

In my family, when the sun goes down, our hair goes up!
My brother slips a durag over his locs.
Sis swirls her hair in a wrap around her head.
Daddy covers his black waves with a cap.
Mama gathers her corkscrew curls in a scarf.
I always wear a bonnet over my braids, but tonight I can't find it anywhere!

Bedtime Bonnet gives readers a heartwarming peek into quintessential Black nighttime hair traditions and celebrates the love between all the members of this close-knit, multi-generational family.

Perfect for readers of Hair Love and Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut!


Author

Nancy Redd:
Nancy Redd is an award-winning on-air host, a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author, a two-time Mom's Choice Award winner, an NAACP Image Award nominee for outstanding literary work, and a GLAAD Media Award nominee for outstanding digital journalism. She is also the author of the highly-acclaimed picture book BEDTIME BONNET. Called "the perfect combination of style and substance" by Essence magazine, Nancy holds an honors degree in women's studies from Harvard University. Find Nancy online at www.nancyredd.com.

Nneka Myers lives in Toronto and illustrates for publishers and the animation industry. Although drawing is her favorite, she can often be found looking for inspiration in vintage fashion, drinking tea with friends, or playing video games.

Info

Reviews